FN Consultants (Private) Limited

The University of the West of Scotland (UWS) was formed in August 2007 by the merging of the University of Paisley with Bell College. 16,000 students are currently enrolled and it is the largest modern university in Scotland, spread across four campuses in Ayr, Dumfries, Hamilton and Paisley.The University has six academic schools and, following the last National Student Survey, 84% of students were happy with UWS. Chemical, Process and Energy Engineering, Chemistry, Cinematics & Photography and Civil Engineering were also top in the Scottish sector for overall satisfaction.The University of the West Scotland is one of Scotland’s most vocational higher education institutions, boasting strong links with industrial and commercial partners. Students can take the option of a year’s paid work placement as part of many degrees. Computing is a key strength, now formally acknowledged by an excellent teaching assessment. The institution also has Scotland’s largest school of health, nursing and midwifery. Accounting and finance research was rated world-class in the last assessments, achieving the highest ranking of any subject at a modern university in Scotland.

Services for International Students:

Pre-sessional English language courses are available and run for 5-8 weeks before the beginning of term. The University of the West of Scotland has a dedicated team of International Student Advisors who can help students on a range of issues such as visas, working in the UK and general wellbeing, as well as running a buddy system with existing students.


  • 116th in the Times University Guide 2021
  • 120th in the Guardian University Guide 2021
  • Former names: Paisley College of Technology, Paisley College, University of Paisley, Bell                                             College of Technology, Bell College, Craigie College of Education
  • Motto: Latin: Doctrina Prosperitas
  • Motto in English: Learning is success
  • Type Public university
  • Established: 1897 (as Paisley College of Technology)
  • 1992 (granted university status)
  • 2007 (renamed to UWS)
  • Chancellor: Dame Elish Angiolini
  • Principal: Craig Mahoney[1]
  • Chairman of the Court: Waiyin Hatton
  • Administrative staff: 1300
  • Students: 16,105 (2019/20)[2]
  • Undergraduates: 13,465 (2019/20)[2]
  • Postgraduates: 2,640 (2019/20)[2]
  • Location: Paisley, Hamilton, Dumfries, Ayr and London, United Kingdom
  • Campus: Multiple